Today’s Smoothie: Fuel to Recover & Race

by Steph Creaturo

IMG_0879Wednesday was my last run before the NYC Half-Marathon on Sunday. I came home decidedly starving, as I do when a race is four days away. I’m a gluten and dairy-free runner – and sometimes plant-based, depending on the time of the year. The no dairy/no meat works great for me, but the no gluten makes fast refueling tricky – I can’t just grab a piece of toast. (Of course, I could just eat toast, but have you tried gluten-free bread?)

oompa-loompa-2During marathon training last year, I had to get creative around refueling when it came to carbs – without relying on highly-processed foods. A happy discovery: my love of the high carb, delicious sweet potato. At one point, I ate so many that my husband said I was beginning to look like this:

Spring running season has reignited my love affair with the sweet potato. The carbs in sweet potatoes are perfect for a day like today, when I’m focused on recovering from today’s run and fueling for Sunday.

During half-marathon training, the daily carb-fueling formula that works for me entails consuming 5 grams of carbs per pound of body weight. This smoothie gives me about one-third of what I need to hit my daily carb goal. It delivers on the carbs and my house smells like there is a pie in the oven – all good things.

IMG_0881How does it taste? Sweet and spicy and kinda like a sweet potato pie. The only thing I love more than sweet potatoes is dates – and I’m all out. Next time!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups of peeled sweet potatoes
  • 1 or 2 medium apples
  • 2 cups of cashew, almond, or any other non-dairy milk
  • 1 banana
  • 3 tbsp of hemp protein powder (I use Nutiva Hemp Protein Powder)
  • 1 tbsp of cinnamon (I dose on cinnamon when training – my joints appreciate its anti-inflammatory properties.)
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • ¼ to ½ tsp cardamom
  • ¼ to ½ tsp of nutmeg
  • To taste: sea salt and maple syrup or honey. Try adding a couple dates!

WHAT TO DO:

Smother sweet potatoes, apple, and peach in cinnamon, sea salt, and melted coconut oil. Roast at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Add to a Vitamix or high-speed blender with ice, non-dairy milk, protein powder, and spices, and blend until smooth. Find your favorite glass, put your feet up, and enjoy!

What’s your favorite go-to recovery drink? What do you do for carbs when you are training? We’d love to hear your best tips! (And follow us on Instagram to keep up with me and the rest of the Mala runners during the race this weekend!)

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: STEPH, TODAY'S JUICE, Uncategorized, YOGA FOR RUNNERS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

