Today’s Juice: Fennel is My Friend

by Steph CreaturoSteph's Fennel Smoothie

I have grown super fond of fennel. It has a kick that is both soothing and energizing. My grandma tried to get me to eat fennel for years.

After our big holiday or Sunday pasta meals, she would pass around a plate of raw fennel. Everyone had to take at least one bite to help with digestion, she said. I thought this was the most disgusting thing in the world. To my 1970’s palate that preferred Hamburger Helper to my grandma’s homemade pasta, the bitter was too much. (I know, total idiot. I have since learned.)

Now, I can’t get enough of the stuff. I put it both juices and smoothies as much as I can. It adds a nice kick and, of course, grandma was right: it really does help with digestion.

Ingredients:

– Celery
– Fennel
– Strawberries
– Collard greens
– Almond milk
– Ice
– Protein powder
– Vega oil
– Flax seeds

Tangy was the right word for it! Did you add an ingredient to your juice or smoothie this week to give it some zing? Let me know in the comments!

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: STEPH, TODAY'S JUICE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Juice: Fennel is My Friend

  1. Sounds great! Can’t wait to try, as I have fennel in my CSA share that I haven’t quite figured out how to love, yet 🙂 What part of it do you use — just the bulb or the whole thing?

  2. Steph says:

    Hi Whitney! I use fennel in both my vitamix and my juicer (I have a basic Breville juicer). I use the whole thing in both machines and it works out great. Let me know how you end up using your fennel. For me, it really was an acquired taste. Thanks! Steph

Leave a Reply

