Today’s Juice: Angela’s PB and Berry Smoothie

Angela's PB & Berry Smoothie

Two weeks after giving birth, my body is finally starting to feel stronger. Not full capacity, but stronger than a week ago. Between my sleep schedule being chaotic and my mind still trying to grasp what it is my husband and I have done, I look down and can’t help but fall in love all over again with our newborn daughter. Then I get concerned about what I feed myself because she gets the nutrients too.

So I decided to go back to the kitchen, which I haven’t seen much of in the past two weeks (thanks to both my husband and my mom – I’m very lucky). I went back to the kitchen and made a smoothie. I use an immersion hand-blender to mix everything. It’s easy to set-up, easy to clean, and makes less noise than my juicer (better for sleeping babies).

I usually use frozen berries. I like to take them out of the freezer 15 – 20 minutes before blending. But, today I was able to use fresh berries! I also eyeballed the measurements, but before everything was blended, it looked like 1.5 – 2 cups. Blended it’s less than that.

Ingredients:

– Fresh blueberries
– Fresh strawberries
– 1 ripe banana
– Coconut milk (or almond milk)
– 1 tablespoon of peanut butter (protein)
– 1.5 teaspoons of the Omega Mix Sprouted Smoothie BlendIt’s got flax and chia seeds – great for everyone, especially nursing moms.

Combine, blend, and drink. However, if have to set it aside for later, just grab a spoon! The chia will turn the smoothie into a pudding. Still delicious, just a different texture. Or add more liquid later, for more of a drinkable smoothie.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: ANGELA, TODAY'S JUICE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

