Today’s Juice: Christina’s Green Smoothie

by Christina Hatgis

Christina's Green SmoothieLast week, we talked to Steph about what her smoothies look like on the weekends. This week we’re heading into Christina’s kitchen for help on making a delicious green smoothie.

I get a lot of “what’s in that?” in the morning when I start drinking my green smoothie as I get ready to teach. I make smoothies or a juice daily, and I encourage you to try it as well. Once you get in the habit, it’s an easy no-brainer that will brighten your day and your palate! My smoothies change daily based on what I have in the fridge and what my taste buds are saying that morning.

I use whatever greens I have on hand. These may be chard (all types), collards, spinach; I toss a bunch in. For liquid I use juice, rice milk or a nut milk (I’m making almond, cashew, and brazil nut milks these days). Again, whatever I have in the fridge.

Ingredients:

– 4-5 leaves of kale; stems included; rinsed and torn up
– ½ banana. Frozen bananas are a great thing to have handy in the freezer. I peel bananas, cut them in half, wrap in saran wrap, and then freeze so I always have ½ a frozen banana to throw in.
– 1 handful of raspberries
– 1 apple
– 1 teaspoon of chia seeds. Chia seeds and cacao nibs are considered superfoods, so why not?
– 1 teaspoon of cacao nibs
– A pinch of cinnamon
– 2 cups of almond milk

Blend in the Vitamix and chill for 15-20 minutes

Optional: If you are using more bitter greens, a dash of maple syrup tastes yummy. If cinnamon isn’t your thing, what about a little vanilla extract or some cardamom?

The beauty of these smoothies is that anything goes. Some concoctions will be divine, others will taste a bit odd, but keep on trying different variations. Such an easy way to get your dose of vitamins and nutrients for the day!

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: CHRISTINA, TODAY'S JUICE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s Juice: Christina’s Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

