Pacer

by Steph Creaturo

During a recent run in a local park, I fell into a pace for pace stride with another runner.   A local running club was holding an event in the park, and she was with them – bib number 29.

This annoyed me at first. I don’t run with anyone. When I run, I clamp my headphones on pretty tight and burrow into myself. I tried to pace forward. She kept up. I hung back on the big hill. She eeked forward. I scooted to meet her.

Like keep your eyes on your own mat in yoga class, run your own race is a pretty big mantra in running circles.

Sometimes, though, we need a push. We can get stuck in a storyline of not trying a pose, of being lulled into a particular pace. This is where the pacer comes in handy. As long as we can stay rooted in our center when we work with a pacer, we can shake off the doldrums of comfortable and see what’s really possible.

I am trying to shave a few seconds off my per mile time.  The appearance of this unexpected pacer was a welcome push to my current capacity.

The original feelings of annoyance molted into “this is weird” which evolved into a deep appreciation of number 29. I finally settled in; the cadence of my strides linked to hers. We stayed this way for a good three-fourths of the park; a lulling mediation of perfect synchronicity.

Then, she passed a coach with a clipboard and a timer, who shouted to her. And like a gust of unexpected wind, she bolted ahead. Her finish line was ahead. I still had miles to go. My temptation was to bolt, too, but that was her pace, not mine. It was once again time to pace on my own.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: STEPH, YOGA FOR RUNNERS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

