The Yogi Next to You

Meet VICTORIA PETRO-CONROY!

The Yogi Next to You - Victoria Petro-ConroyWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

I first started my practice when I was having foot problems and the podiatrist recommended I get expensive shoe inserts or start stretching.  Having no insurance at the time, the obvious choice was yoga.  I went to the nearest studio I could find and was very fortunate to find a wonderful little community.  My foot pain went away and I have had a steady practice for over 10 years now.  I’ve been following Angela and Stephanie around Brooklyn for ages and I am very happy they now have Mala.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

I love arm balances!  Any of the crow poses makes me happy.  I also love a well choreographed class that leads up to Eka Pada Koundinyasana II.

And my least favorite pose by far: L-shaped handstand.  I have never been able to find any mental ease in it, even in the strongest times of my practice it’s still uncomfortable.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

My biggest yoga obstacle has been having a child.  Finding time to practice is a challenge.  I had a strong practice before having a baby and afterward I had to re-learn many poses, which I don’t necessarily think is a bad thing.  It was good to be forced to start fresh and re-examine my body.  It was interesting starting over because this time I knew all the poses and my potential, so it was more of a mental journey.  Being okay with taking it easy or knowing when to push myself.

I did get my practice close to where it was pre-baby, and now I’m pregnant again!  I know I’ll have my practice for the rest of my life though, so this is just a blip in the radar. And on the flip side, the mental teachings of my yoga practice has been one of my saving graces in having a child.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

Any talk on compassion always sits with me for a while.  I think especially living in New York, its good to be reminded that it’s not always about you.  Putting yourself in someone else’s shoes is good practice.  That person that elbowed you on the subway or yelled at you or gave a dirty look may have had a really bad day or week or year.  Yoga has definitely taught me how to let things roll off my shoulders, although I’m still working on being compassionate to those in cars who almost run my child and me over on a daily basis.

Where is your favorite place to get coffee or a drink post yoga?

I love the breakfast burritos at Nectar!

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

At this point in my life, I don’t care where it would be, just that I’m not rushing to get there!  I honestly can’t remember the last time I wasn’t racing to get to a class.

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

I guess I kind of answered that above about compassion.  Yoga has also taught me to be in the moment, which, outside of the physical practice is great when you have kids.  Remaining calm, breathing and knowing the whining/crying will be over and there will be another “pose” in a moment and then moving forward and learning and building on.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yogi Next to You

  1. David says:

    “…knowing the whining/crying will be over and there will be another “pose” in a moment…” I like that. I think I’ll use it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

