The Yogi Next to You

Meet SASHA HYNES!

The Yogi Next to You - Sasha HynesWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

How did I come to yoga/Mala?  A friend of mine started going to Christina’s Monday evening class and wouldn’t stop pestering me to join her.  Finally I relented, and we went.

I am not a fan of exercise or gyms or group experiences generally, so you can imagine how surprised I was to find that I felt insanely good after just a few classes and had to – just had to – get some more of that.  I kept going even after my friend stopped.  That was almost three years ago.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

All poses that make my middle back stronger and give it more range of motion are my friends.  That’s a lot of poses, folks.  Half-pigeon feels to me like medieval torture.  Blessedly, Steph gave me permission never to contort my body into that posture again.  I might yet try it, if I ever get my IT band removed, but that might lead to other problems.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

Half-pigeon excepted, nothing about yoga feels very much like an obstacle.  To the contrary, I find the stuff I cannot hope to do (yet or ever) almost as interesting as what I can.  This is one answer.

Another is that it is undeniably difficult for me to do the same thing everyone else in the room is doing.  I’m like the guy in “Life of Brian” who, in perfect dis-unity with the crowd formed at Brian’s window, insists that he is NOT different.  You know the scene?  That’s me.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

When Angela speaks of gratitude at the beginning of class, and all things tangentially related thereto, I am very much listening.  To feel gratefulness is to have been bestowed with a gift from the Gods.  I am grateful for pretty much everything I have, and when I am not, I try to remember that I am squandering a gift.  Most of the time I am squandering a gift.  But at the end of every yoga class, I say Namaste truly, with gratitude.  The absence of pain is a beautiful thing.

Where is your favorite place to get coffee, or a drink post yoga?

Coffee? This town is lousy with great coffee.  For this too, I am grateful.  Variety is everything.  Sometimes I want good coffee from the guy with the great tunes at Ecopolis, sometimes I want the great light through the window of Canteen.  I’m not too worried about the coffee being good.

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

If I could practice yoga anywhere in the world, it would have to be on my private yacht.  In the Mediterranean, Galapagos, Vietnam, Baltic’s, Nantucket. Really, how does one chose?

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

How has practicing yoga shifted other aspects of my life?  That’s deep.  I’m not sure which came first, the yoga or the changes.  My guess is they all flow along nicely together, in a symbiotic, mutually gratifying wave.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yogi Next to You

  1. David says:

    Speaking as a yoga teacher – You’re a great yoga student!

Leave a Reply

