The Heart of Yoga

SOME THINGS TAKE TIME

by Daniella Rosales-Friedman

The Heart of Yoga - 11/6Diana looked down. Her whole body tensed and her face went white. She’d come across a photo of her ex-boyfriend on her Facebook feed.

“God, what’s wrong with me? It’s been six months and I still can’t look at him without feeling like I want to vomit.”

At that moment, I knew it was time to reveal my secret project.

You see, I run Yoga for the Single Girl Workshops. And as such, it’s my job to talk about, think about, and write about dating, yoga, and the business of being a Single Girl.

I know what you’re thinking. I’m not some expert, or anything like that. I’m just a regular girl, who happened to be single for, oh, 8 years.

“What the heck did I do during those 8 years?” 

Well, if I knew that, maybe I’d have some answers for my Single Girls. Maybe.

To find out, I took out a pen and ripped out a piece of paper from my pink spiral notebook.  I turned the paper on its side and drew a line across the bottom. On the left I ticked a line, and marked it ‘Sept 2002.’ On the right I ticked another line, marked it ‘December 24th, 2010,’ the night I met my Nice Boyfriend.

The Heart of Yoga - 11/6In between, I jotted down the boyfriends I could easily remember. Some made me feel invincible. And a couple broke my heart.

There were others. There were boys I dated for a few months. There were one-night-stands that meant a lot more, and placeholders for the men whose names I couldn’t remember. What was that guy’s name, again? It will come to me. There was “Jenny’s friend” and “Jill’s friend” and “the younger guy I met with Liz.”

Finally, I looked down at the line of scribbles and cross-outs I’d created.

What happened to 2008? It was totally blank.

Turns out I’d made one major miscalculation. After Ex-Boyfriend #3, I didn’t immediately move on to Ex-Boyfriend #4 like my timeline suggested. Instead, I’d waited a full calendar year (to cry, heal, and eventually feel ready) to date again.

Some things take time.

Daniella Rosales-Friedman is a yogi, writer, dating know-it-all, and yenta extraordinaire. She’s thrilled to be the creator of Yoga for the Single Girl workshops, located at Mala Yoga and throughout New York City.

Daniella is also The Brooklyn Dating Guru. She offers stories, tips, and anecdotes on dating, relationships and love from Daniella’s unique yogic perspective. Read more from Daniella on her blog. Or send her a love letter.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in GUEST CONTRIBUTORS, TEACHER'S CORNER and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

