The Yogi Next to You

Meet CARI FRISCH!

The Yogi Next to You - Cari FrischWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

My fiance got me a gift certificate for my birthday because I was frustrated with the yoga class at my gym. It felt like a splurge to pay for yoga if I could go for free, so after the classes expired I used money from a freelance project to buy some class cards and after that had run its course, I found I was hooked and had to continue coming. I like how my practice finally feels like it is building and how Angela seemingly has eyes in the back of her head and always notices when and how you need to reposition your body.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

I am a runner, so poses like lizard and ninja death pose always have me aching.

Rock star is a pose I always want to stay in longer because it feels like my body is continually on the brink of opening up just a little more with each passing second.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles?

My biggest obstacles are definitely clearing my head of outside thoughts and remembering to breathe.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

I can’t recall a specific talk at the moment, but the ones with messages that pertain to living in the present and thinking the best of yourself and others tend to resonate most with me.

Where is your favorite place to get coffee, or a drink, post-yoga?

I go to an evening class, so I race home for dinner, which, hopefully, my fiance has just finished preparing!

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I find that I get distracted when I practice outside, so I would say a large, quiet indoor space with a calm and peaceful atmosphere…with something fabulous waiting for me outside.

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

It’s made me more aware of my body and its alignment (or nonalignment!). I also try to remember the lessons I learn in the studio in my daily life, especially when something goes wrong. Remembering to breathe and consider a different perspective is always helpful.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

