The Yogi Next to You

Meet KERRY ZUCKER!

The Yogi Next to You - Kerry ZuckerWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

I had tried yoga a couple of times at the gym, but really got hooked when I started in basics with Stephanie way back when she first started teaching at a different studio in Brooklyn. Stephanie tipped me off to another great teacher in the neighborhood, Angela, and I have been following them both around ever since. I was so happy for Stephanie, Angela and Christina when they bravely decided to open Mala and not the least bit surprised by their success. I’m not sure I would have stuck with yoga had it not been for the enthusiasm, intelligence and guidance of my first teachers.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

My affection for poses changes daily, but I love that after 7 years of doing Warrior II, which was one of the first poses I learned, I am always discovering something new about it and never get bored with it.  I honestly don’t think there are any poses that I would never want to do again because one of the things I love about yoga is being challenged on a regular basis.  That being said, I’m generally less than excited when reclined virasana shows up in class as it usually takes me practically the entire hold to get comfortable in that position with all of the props, etc.  I also have a love-hate relationship with handstand.  This is one of those poses that has come and gone for me over the years and the source of much anxiety when it comes up in class.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

I think my biggest obstacle is learning how to accept change in my practice whether it be from injury, work schedule or whatever may come up. I had become very attached to my weekly yoga schedule, but over the past year both work and injuries have gotten in the way.  Trying not to be frustrated by this and accept the situation for what it is has been immensely challenging.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

A few weeks ago, Lindsay challenged us to first see what is right or good in any given situation as opposed to immediately noticing what’s flawed or bad or wrong.  This may sound easy, but once I consciously tried to do this, as I walked into work in the morning or brought my mat to the wall for handstand, I realized how difficult it is.

Where is your favorite place to get coffee, or a drink post yoga?

A smoothie from Nectar has become part of my Saturday morning post-yoga routine.

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

India!

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

I think the gratitude I experience in yoga – gratitude for my teachers, for the time to practice, for my health that allows me to practice – has helped in reminding me to be grateful in all aspects of life.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

