The Yogi Next to You

Meet LAUREN LESSER!

The Yogi Next to You - Lauren LesserWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

My yoga story started when I took my first class in 2000 after a friend brought me to a class with her. Aside from all of the initial thoughts running around in my head along the lines of “I have no idea what I’m doing” and “I’m so not flexible, ” I did notice how relaxed and open I felt afterward.

Throughout the next 10 years I dabbled in and out of yoga classes exploring different instructors, but never really committed to a regular practice. Fast forward to two years ago where, on a whim, I signed up for a yoga retreat in Montana. The best way I can describe that experience is magical and all I wanted to do was keep practicing and learning more. I was drawn to the focus on alignment in the physical practice and began to get a deeper understanding of the non-physical practice as well.

Coincidentally, I had just moved to Brooklyn and was looking for a local yoga studio to join when I returned from the retreat. I stumbled upon Mala and was hooked after my first class.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

Half moon – I love the feeling of extension and opening in every direction. And pigeon. Wheel is definitely not on my list of favorites.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

Physically, I am constantly working to improve flexibility in my shoulders. My biggest mental obstacle is trying to calm the chatter in my mind. I love that just showing up to class after a hectic day already starts to improve that. The rest is sometimes a bit harder…

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

It was a quote Angela read recently “We must be willing to get rid of the life we’ve planned so as to have the life that’s waiting for us. “- Joseph Campbell. I feel extremely fortunate for all I have, so even though the path is not always clear I like to remind myself to be open to what may come.

Where is your favorite place to get coffee, or a drink post yoga?

Either Nectar or Cafe Pedlar.

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Anywhere sunny and warm and near the beach.

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

Since I have been practicing yoga regularly, I feel so much more balanced in my life. Yoga has taught me how to cope better with the stress of a busy job and how to stay calm. Physically, I’m so much more aware of my body and have noticed improvements in my posture and eating habits.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yogi Next to You

  1. Pingback: The Yogi Next to You | MALA YOGA

Leave a Reply

