The Yogi Next to You

Meet HOPE REEVES!

Hope Reeves - The Yogi Next to YouWhat’s your yoga story? How’d you find Mala?

I met Angela about five years ago when she was teaching at another studio and she became my favorite teacher. She extolled the wisdom and talent of both Steph and Christina so I attended some of their other classes. Then…when Mala opened, half a block from my kids’ school, well it was like some kind of miracle. I can drop them off at 9 and hop on over for the 9:15. Perfect!

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

There really is no pose I could “do all day.” Except maybe savasana! I do like inversions (except shoulder stand) and forward bending. Balancing on one leg (or high lunge variation, bending and straightening knee) less so. I’m always nervous I’m going to fall and though I know it’s part of the practice, I can’t quite accept it.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

I am not a morning person but the only classes I can really attend are in the morning. When I wake up I struggle with myself over whether I will drop the kids at school and then go back to bed or make myself go to yoga. Usually yoga wins and I always feel better for it. I also suffer from mega inflexibility which hinders many poses. I take pleasure in getting deeper into a pose but still get frustrated that some seem forever inaccessible.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

My favorite Dharma talk was, and I forget now who read this, “The path IS the goal.” I think about it every day. I also liked the Mark Twain quote “My life has been filled with terrible misfortunes, most of which never happened.”

Where is your favorite place to get a drink post-yoga?

My favorite place to get coffee after yoga is home. Martin makes a mean cup.

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

If I could study yoga anywhere…it would be here, at Mala!

How has practicing yoga shifted other aspects of your life?

Yoga has given me a relationship with my body that I’ve never had before. I’m much more aware of subtle twinges and strains and the lack of them when that’s the case. The Dharma aspect, though not super heavy at Mala, has given me significant perspective on things and supplied me with extremely helpful tools do deal with my own shit. Not that it always works…but it’s there and I use it.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

