The Yogi Next to You

Meet MARCUS BERARDINO!

The Yogi Next to You - Marcus BerardinoWhat’s your yoga story? How’d you find Mala?

I found yoga at the YMCA when I first moved to NYC in 1995 partly because it was new and trendy, partly because I needed to chill from the nutty new environment I found myself living in. From there I bounced from studio to studio, gathering (as I do) bits and pieces from several traditions….Integral, Om, Jivamukti, brief Ashtanga practice, etc. While living in Curry (Murray) Hill, I found Laughing Lotus and my practice shifted quickly; I always wanted to be a dancer, and so, I found my ‘feet’ there along with a lot of sweat, mantra, music and devotion.

After all my yoga ‘dabbling,’ I eventually became more serious about my practice and felt it was time to go deeper. Encouraged by Stephanie & Angela, I went to yoga school in 2008 and my life truly changed in amazing ways. I came to Mala via practicing with Angela, Stephanie and Christina.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

I’ve been digging Ardha Chandrasana lately – particularly the hand-less version (both hands at the heart). It makes me feel wide and expansive – I like to fly…arm balances also bring me joy! Reclined Goddess with shoulders and head on blocks and knees supported has been feeling delicious too. There are no poses I’d never want to do but I’m learning to love Upavistha Konasana & Urdhva Dhanurasana. I’m not a big fan of Visvamitrasana.

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

Keeping a regular meditation practice would be one of my biggest ‘yoga’ obstacles. Another would be learning to be kinder to myself. I overcome them by sitting quietly while eating ice cream. 🙂 Okay jokes aside, I try to remember Ishvarapranidhana as much as possible and practice it often. Surrender. Compassion. Grace.

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

Last Dharma talk that resonated with me was from Onbeing.com with Sylvia Boorstein “What We Nurture.” Go listen to it.

Where is your favorite place to get a drink post-yoga?

Ted and Honey – I like their iced coffee or Arnold Palmer.

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Anywhere in the world to practice yoga? Beach or mountain, you name it, I’m there.

How has practicing yoga shifted other aspects of your life?

My practice has showed me that I like to be challenged and also taken care of too. Both of those traits I have taken to my off-the-mat world. Balancing the effort with the ease in my personal and professional life. I like to keep challenging myself and growing, but I also like to enjoy and revel in life’s insanity and joys. That’s how I want to practice ‘life’. “Live as if you’ll die tomorrow, Learn as if you’ll live forever – Gandhi

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

