Practice Makes Practice

NO REGRETS

by Sandra Bark

Practice Makes Practice - No RegretsIt’s ten p.m. You know where your children are: at home, asleep. But you’re out, about to have that last glass of wine, even though you’re going to wake up in the morning, clutching your hangover, and say:  “Why? Why did I do that?”

It’s 11 a.m. You hit send on an unfortunately worded email, and the moment you do, you think “Why? Why did I do that?”

It’s 3 p.m. You have a slice of cake with your coffee: delicious! You pass by the break room an hour later. The last slice beckons…then you are dizzy with sugar and wondering: “Why? Why did I do that?”

We all have our lists of regrets, of I-wish-I-wouldn’t-haves.  Mine includes certain haircuts and that wedding in Italy I didn’t go to. I have regretted decisions and indecisions, roads taken and opportunities squandered. I have regretted purchases. I have regretted regret.

I have never regretted a yoga class.  I have never worked it out on the mat and then later in the day, wished that I could command-Z the practice.  Untriangle? Untree? Unhero? Whatever for?

Of course, I don’t always want to go to yoga, and sometimes I get distracted when I am there.  I have clcokwatched and let my mind wander. I have gotten lazy in Warrior 1. I have looked forward to savasana and planned my week and my month and decided what I was going to order for lunch.  I have written text messages in my mind, written novels, started arguments, mended fences.

But I have never walked out of a yoga class and thought to myself; “Why?  Why did I do that?”

9:15 a.m., noon, 6:45 p.m.  Why do we go to yoga?  There are so many reasons, physical and metaphysical; it is good therapy, it is good exercise, it is a good way to unwind. We can make new muscles. We can make new friends. We can find transcendence or inversion, a fresh perspective or our own truths.

And my latest reason on the long list of why I practice: because in the end, after the final Om, when I am rolling up my mat, I am always glad to be there.  I always feel like I meant to be there, like I anticipated it, like I did my best. And on the walk home, I don’t regret anything.

Sandra Bark is a writer who lives in Brooklyn and practices at Mala. PRACTICE MAKES PRACTICE offers a student’s perspective of the yoga experience, on the mat and off.

<Next
Previous>

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in GUEST CONTRIBUTORS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Practice Makes Practice

  1. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

  2. Daniella Rosales-Friedman says:

    I love this! It’s so true, it’s always a good idea to go to yoga class. At least that’s what I realize after class. Before, it’s not as clear.

  3. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

  4. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

Leave a Reply

