Practice Makes Practice

EVERYTHING’S ERFECT

by Sandra Bark

Practice Makes Practice - Everything's ErfectThis summer, I am breaking up with perfect.

It’s too much.  I’ll never be enough.

Perfect teeth, perfect grades, perfect posture. All of that implicit hyperbole!

Perfect makes a liar out of us, every time.

Perfect makes me think of the man I saw in Jamaica at dawn, at the shore.  His job at the resort was to rake the seaweed out of the ocean so it wouldn’t bother the guests.  How perfect is that?

So good-bye, perfect. I’m through.

Because as it turns out, I am not perfect, not at all.

Sometimes I am generous, but sometimes I am selfish. Sometimes I am thoughtful, but sometimes I only consider myself. Sometimes I am funny, but sometimes I laugh at dumb signs like the ones in the 80s that said, Welcome to our ool. Notice there’s no p in it. Let’s keep it that way.

My downward dog is not perfect. My attitude is not perfect, and neither is my diction or the way I make the bed.

I did not score perfect SATs or GREs.

I am not a perfect size 8 or 6 or 4 or 2.

I am not a perfect ten.

I am not always patient, not always grateful, not always gracious. I can get cranky, snappish, hangry. I say no when I should say yes. I say yes when I should say never, no thanks, go away please.

Sometimes I Om off-key.

Still: I make it to yoga.  I make an excellent frittata.  I make it a point to try to be nicer, kinder, more patient.

But I’ll probably never execute a perfect scorpion, and I really couldn’t care less.

Welcome to my erfect. Notice there’s no P in it. I’m going to keep it that way.

Sandra Bark is a writer who lives in Brooklyn and practices at Mala. PRACTICE MAKES PRACTICE offers a student’s perspective of the yoga experience, on the mat and off.

<Next
Previous>

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in GUEST CONTRIBUTORS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Practice Makes Practice

  1. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

  2. Smallpeace says:

    I think you are absolutely erfect—and I aspire to be that way, too.

  3. Dana says:

    I keeping reading that as “erect.” 😮

  4. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

  5. Pingback: Practice Makes Practice | MALA YOGA

Leave a Reply

