The Yogi Next to You

Meet EVAN NEUFELD!

The Yogi Next to You - Evan NeufeldWhat’s your yoga story? How did you find Mala?

I started doing Yoga around the time my daughter was born – my first class was actually a gift from my wife – as a way of just reducing stress, and resolving some lower back issues I was having at the time. I didn’t dig it all that much at first, but after about 6 months, it started to grow on me, and it’s been a regular fixture in my life – come rain, shine, travel, or awful work deadlines – ever since.

In terms of how I found Mala, I was fortunate enough to have met Angela fairly early in my practice (she taught one of the first open class I ever took, back in the day) and her approach to the practice really resonated with me. She remained one of my favorite teachers, and I followed her around a bit until Mala came into being.

What pose do you want to do all day? What pose could you never do again?

I could do Wheel all damn day. I find it a dangerously energizing pose: If I do it to late in the day I have trouble falling asleep! Although it was my money inversion pose for years, ever since I started doing headstands, shoulder stand has been a big meh for me. As soon as I go into it, I start looking at the stop watch in my brain…

What are your biggest yoga obstacles and how do you overcome them?

My monkey mind is my biggest obstacle. Sometimes I can shut him up, sometimes he just won’t sit down and runs amuck. Meditation helps a bunch with that, as well as just trying to find a way to love the monkey – some days you win, some days he wins, but you just got to keep it up and wear him down ….

What was the last Dharma talk that resonated with you?

Not sure it counts, but I a have a copy of Portia Nelson’s poem There Is a Hole in My Sidewalk by my desk that I look at pretty often. It always seems to have something relevant and resonant to say to me …

Where is your favorite place to get coffee, or a drink, post-yoga?

For me, it’s all about Café Pedlar (I’m addicted to those appropriately named stout cakes)

If you could practice yoga anywhere in the world, where would it be?

The Roof of the World (you did say anywhere, right?)

How has practicing shifted other aspects of your life?

Absolutely and profoundly. For the past few years, my practice has become much more about what happens off my mat then on, and the places my asana practice have led me are all pretty important to me. I would never had thought, sitting in my first awkward class all those years ago, that yoga would open all these doors for me, but it has, and for that I am profoundly grateful.

We’re thrilled to bring you the stories of Mala yogis in their own words.  Maybe you know them, maybe you’ve never seen them before, maybe they look familiar, maybe you once knew their name, but forgot.  Whatever the case may be, here is the chance to learn a little more about the person practicing on the mat next to you.  Click here to read about other yogis.

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in THE YOGI NEXT TO YOU and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yogi Next to You

  1. Pingback: Math for Yoga That Doesn’t Quite Add Up | MALA YOGA

Leave a Reply

