Busted

I was walking down Court Street, carrying a Netflix DVD in one hand and my phone in the other.  I was thinking about all the things I still had to do that night, like, “I need to do my sitting meditation practice, record a podcast, start planning tomorrow’s class, and answer those last few emails.  Oh, and don’t forget…”

As I was shouting in my head, I noticed someone reaching out their arm to me.  So,  out of habit, maybe instinct, or possibly just sheer confusion, I reached my hand back towards theirs.  I looked up to see a smiling face at me – it was Warwick.  He just smiled at me and said, “you are so in your own world.” “Yes! Yes, I was thinking about all the things I have to do tonight!” I shouted back, “so non-yogic of me…”  I mean, really.  Busted Ang – not present with the moment at hand at all.

But before I could go down that path of loathing, he said, “but you’re smiling now.”  And yes, yes I was.  That one great interaction that made me smile and relax as I was, where I was.  I almost missed it because I was too busy thinking about all the things I had to do later, and then almost missed it again because I started thinking about how I almost missed it.

Sigh.  This being present in the moment is difficult…

About The Mala Yoga Blog

We are a Brooklyn-based studio that focuses on alignment, balance and community. Have a read, try one of our Practice Podcasts, or come in and say "hi" in person!
This entry was posted in MORE WITH: ANGELA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

